Player coords change for zones

the player coords update when you pass certain areas of the map.

A dedicated forum for support, assistance, and quick help on using Cheat Engine usage.


Post Reply
User avatar
Chuggz
Cheater
Cheater
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:44 am
Answers: 0
x 3

Player coords change for zones

Post by Chuggz »

Hey all, I've been messing around with cotw the angler, just trying to make a free cam for it so I can look at the nice scenery but I've become stumped on how to go about the gaming doing this.

So what happens is when your running around your player coords go so far to whatever value it decides, then when you cross a area of the map it "switches" and your coords completely change. So for example they usually seem to go upwards to about 300-400 and then when you hit the switch area it can drop all the way back down to the 80s. (this is an example, it varies pretty wildly)

The issue with this is my free cam, when I cross these "switch" points, launches the character way out the map. Almost as if it super accelerates based on values suddenly changing so much.

The only thing I can think of is the game will respawn you at set locations if it has trouble respawning you to your last ground location, so I'm thinking your coords are based around certain spawn points. So if, lets say you are in an falling loop, it tries to respawn you to your last location on the ground but if you are respawned there and keep falling somehow (falling/clipping through the ground) it tries a couple times and then eventually respawns you at an outpost or some other determined respawn point.

I'm curious if anyone has dealt with a game that does this and how you may have went about fixing it so you can so free fly and the updated coords when you cross that "switch" point doesn't mess your free cam up.


User avatar
bbfox
Table Master
Table Master
Journeyman Hacker
Journeyman Hacker
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2022 8:59 am
Answers: 0
x 519

Re: Player coords change for zones

Post by bbfox »

Chuggz wrote: Sun Oct 20, 2024 7:52 pm

The issue with this is my free cam, when I cross these "switch" points, launches the character way out the map. Almost as if it super accelerates based on values suddenly changing so much.

I think, I may try to do this:
Store previous char coords into variables.
Check if the gap between previous values <==> current char coords is too large?
if yes, then disable custom / or reset view point coords

or, find any code piece that contains zone info and monitor it.


I create tables to suit my preferences. Table is free to use, but need to leave the author's name and source URL: https://opencheattables.com.
Table will not be up-to-date. Feel free to modify it, but kindly provide credit to the source.


User avatar
Chuggz
Cheater
Cheater
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2023 1:44 am
Answers: 0
x 3

Re: Player coords change for zones

Post by Chuggz »

bbfox wrote: Tue Oct 22, 2024 8:07 am

I think, I may try to do this:
Store previous char coords into variables.
Check if the gap between previous values <==> current char coords is too large?
if yes, then disable custom / or reset view point coords

or, find any code piece that contains zone info and monitor it.

Hmm, I'll give it a try.
I did manage a temporary workaround, which instead of my free cam reading and storing the coordinate values before the loop and then calculating the coordinates as you move around and writing it at the end, I have it read and write before every calculation of x, y, and z.
Now, this is clearly not ideal due to the constant reading and writing of values multiple times in a loop, but it did let me do it without the issue of zooming across the map.

Now, I do have two addresses for the player coordinates. One is called constantly—your normal player coordinates you would find when you do anything with coordinates. The other is only updated and called when you trigger the "zone" changes.

So, I need to play around more in that section. I could have it break the loop if it detects that code section being run or something along those lines. I am curious to follow that zone coordinate code around more and see what I find there.

Thank you for your input; it's greatly appreciated. I've been messing around with it for a while and was split on a few ways to go about doing it and just wanted some extra input since my way isn't exactly... "nice," shall we say.


Post Reply